December 10, 2024

BOARD

Learning together.

2025-2026 CALENDAR PARAMETERS APPROVED

HIGHLIGHTS

The Board reviewed and approved the parameters for the development of the 2025–2026 school year calendar. Ryan Boughen, Director of Education, will establish a calendar committee in the new year to create calendar options that align with the approved parameters. The committee will consist of teachers, CUPE staff, trustees, central office staff, transportation staff, and SCC members. Once the calendars have been approved by the Board, they must be approved the Ministry of Education. Final calendars will be shared with staff and families once all approvals have been met.

Prairie

South

Schools

FACILITIES ACCOUNTABILITY REPORT

Our Facilities Manager, Darren Baiton, presented the Facilities Accountability Report to the Board. Our schools and buildings are in good shape despite their aging infrastructure. Our newest building is Ecole Gravelbourg School which opened in 2016. Our two oldest schools are Empire School and Central Collegiate in Moose Jaw, both 115 years old. The average age of our schools is 68 years. The average space utilization in Prairie South is 59%; two of our schools are operating at over 100% capacity.

Our facilities department uses a software program called Asset Planner which has different modules for different areas, providing accurate data related to service requests, identifying needs for preventative maintenance and more.

Thank you to our entire facilities department who create a clean, safe, and welcoming environment for everyone. You are deeply appreciated.

CONGRATULATIONS VOLLEYBALL TEAMS

Congratulations to the Central Collegiate 4A boys (pictured at left) and the Rouleau School 1A boys (pictured at right) volleyball teams on capturing Provincial Gold!





The Board would like to wish all our students, staff, families, and community members a wonderful holiday season and a happy and healthy 2025!

Giselle Wilson, Chair Darcy Pryor, Vice-Chair Robert Bachmann Patrick Boyle

SCHOOL BOARD MEMBERS Bachmann John Bumbac

Shawn Davidson

Brett Hagan Mary Jukes Tenielle McLeod Lew Young